SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi,

I am completely new to this but am wanting to do some stargazing and astrophotography. i have a great interest particularly in the deep sky and am wondering what kind of telescope i should get in order to mainly view the deep sky but also one that if i wanted to i could view planets etc.

there are low levels of light pollution in my area and i have a pretty good budget (around 1k) wanting a quality telescope that i will still own in years to come as i am wanting to go on to study this.

i am currently looking at reflectors but was wondering if anyone thought that i was looking at the wrong type of telescope based on my preferences. if anyone has any recommendations i would love to hear them as i am not yet sure about well trusted brands etc.

also for the astrophotographers out there what do you believe is an essentials kit for a beginner.

Thanks 

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You'll find that for deep sky astrophotography your main piece of equipment is the mount as that will have the biggest contribution to your image quality. Do plenty of research if you wish to spend your hard earned wisely

I think a reflector, particularly a Dobsonian, would be ideal for your visual requirements.

However based on your title on the thread a Dob is not suitable for deep sky imaging.

You will use up a good portion of your budget buying a good mount to support a telescope for imaging.

You should definitely read up on mounts and telescope types then it will be easier to advise you accordingly!

Deep sky, planets, viewing, astrophotography - very different requirements and one setup won't do it all. As advised above, best to do more research and decide which requirement is most important to you. You may then find that £1k doesn't go very far, especially for astrophotograhy.