Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

If you were to buy a William Optics Zenithstar, or possibly a Redcat, which would you buy and why? I'm looking at the range and curious to find out why they're all fairly close in price and size.

The candidates are;
WO v2-U RedCat 51 APO
WO Zenithstar 61 II APO
WO Zenithstar 73 III APO
WO Zenithstar 81 APO

Ultimately I plan to build a rig using my recently purchased SWAGti, possibly with one of the above, a Guidescope and camera, all tied into a ZWO ASiair Plus 256G.

I've very recently purchased an Askar FMA135 135 mm f/4.5 ED APO Astro graph and it's a great quality little scope but not had a chance to use it properly yet. 

As a beginner, I very much appreciate any comments, criticism, suggestions etc. 

Thanks, Steve

Aperture will give you more "speed" and resolving capability, if the mounts up to it the larger the better.

Redcats are nice because the flatteners are built in so likely you can get an even and flat field across the FOV out the box, good for mosaics. I find though they are too close to my Samyang 135 (the SY is also much faster) so for me they are not really an option, but I also have a Z61 which I can also image at F3.8 and 234mm FL, so again beats the Redcat though I don't have a flat field.

But, I can use the Z61 for visual and AP, I can use whatever reducer that fits (hence the above f ratio and FL) so I can choose my framing on targets better. TBH it's such a versatile scope and has excelled at everything (visual, AP, lunar, white light and HA solar (with filters/equipment), planets (though small but sharp)). It's small to boot so perfect for travel.

But if I were buying new I'd likely also consider the GT81 triplet for AP use (standard not the WIFD one), though from my experience doublets work perfectly fine.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi Chromium,