Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

School Astronomy Club

Nadine2704

Hi everyone!

I'm starting a lunchtime astronomy club at my school and I'm trying to think of fun activities for the kids.  As an English teacher, I have no science credentials and I'm having to rely on my self-taught knowledge, so I'm a little worried that this has the potential to go completely pear shaped, but there's just nothing in school for pupils to encourage them to take an interest in astronomy, so I want to provide that for them!  Members will be aged between 13-17, so I need to make sure that whatever I do is accessible for a variety of ages.  I've sorted out topics to look at each week and I have a whole heap of ideas, but I'm wanting them to get quite hands on with activities as well, so that it doesn't just feel like classwork, and this is where I'm struggling!  Does anyone have any ideas for fun things we can do/make during meetings?  

Thanks!

Nadine

P.S Unfortunately nighttime observing is currently out of the question due to pupils needing to get busses home straight after school, as the school is slightly out of the way (not out of the way enough for there to be little light pollution though!!).  I also live in Scotland, so the weather is usually against us.  I might consider taking my telescope in for daytime viewing of the moon etc, but we can't do this every week haha

10 minutes ago, Nadine2704 said:

I might consider taking my telescope in for daytime viewing of the moon etc, but we can't do this every week haha

A lot of kids around one scope? Have you considered binoculars too! Their great for handing around a group of kids and easier to use than most scopes.
We both know full well, the viewing season here in Scotland is short, and much much colder, the attention span may be reduced unless their wrapped up warm.