Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from the West Midlands, UK

Haylz

Hello everyone

My name is Hayley. I'm a secondary school science teacher from the West Midlands in England. Although my degree was biology based, I have recently took the plunge and bought a Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ.

I'm hoping to be able to see planets, nebulae, galaxies and so on. So far I've managed to see the moon in detail and Jupiter as a glowing disc. I have recently bought the AstroMaster accessory kit that came with a 2x Barlow lens, a 6 mm lens and a 15 mm lens, so I'm hoping to be able to see the bands on Jupiter and the Saturn's rings.

I've been learning to read star charts and about magnification from this forum so I thought it was about time I introduced myself and said thank you! 

Does anyone have any tips/recommendations for an astronomy beginner for websites, apps, equipment, etc?

Thank you in advance!

Hayley 

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Hayley, welcome to SGL :smile: There's plenty of information here - just have a look around the site. We have sections for beginners, both observing and equipment, where you can ask any question you like. There's always someone on hand to help :smile: So ask away!

Hi, and welcome aboard :)

For apps/programs, probably the best one to get is Stellarium. That will tell you exactly what/where/when anything is in the night sky - just give it your location and it will give you a pretty accurate representation of your night sky, much easier that trying to understand star charts! (best part is... its free!):

http://www.stellarium.org/en_GB/

Depending on where you live in the west midlands, it might be worth getting out and about to get away from light pollution. I used to live in the Sandwell area, which was pretty appauling in terms of LP. Your best bet is to get out to Clent or perhaps a bit further afield if you want to see more.

Hi Hayley 

welcome to the forum!