Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

Sign in to follow this  
assasincz

Uranus 2016-09-27

It has been too long since I contributed anything to the forum, so I thought to share with you my latest try in planetary astrophotography.

Actually it is my first try with SW 300p Goto Flextube dobsonian which I recently acquired. I wanted to try out how the system tracks for webcam astrophotography, which is my second point of interest after visual observing. In short - it tracked quite well - no jerkyness in tracking, very smooth, stable and centred for a long time, and I am also very happy with my old motor focus which helped me out tremendously. The conditions were very poor though, and the resulting picture is heavily post-processed. At least it managed to capture the colour quite nicely.

For caputre, I use a modified Prestigion PWC2 webcam, Baader 2.25x barlow and UV/IR-cut filter. 

You can see the imaging setup in the second picture. 

2016-09-28_uran_02.jpg14456919_1109439602474850_1711271316_o.jpg

Edited by assasincz
  • Like 9

Nice. You have caught it so big. I saw it recently in a small telescope and then it was hardly bigger than a star.

Nice image. Uranus is a tough target and you've caught it well.

Good catch, Uranus is well placed at the moment.

Dave

Excellent shot!

what was the exposure time and how many shots you've made?

Very nice shot, to my eyes Uranus always seems to come across more green in my scopes, lovely photo!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead