NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography on a Budget - I really hope this helps.

JasonR

I do not know if this will help anyone out there. I wanted to get into astrophotography for years….and I mean years. The problem was that I thought the only way to get those amazing shots was with all the super expensive equipment. I did a lot of research, spoke to countless people at star parties. Knowing my own budget and seeing all the expensive setups was discouraging. I visited and discussed options with different telescope manufactures. Finally went into the Orion Cupertino store and spoke with the store manager, Ken. I finally got the Orion Sky View Pro mount with motor drives (non-goto) and purchased a $20 lens off of eBay. I have been extremely happy with my set up and have taken some pretty amazing shots. I am an educator by trade and would like to share my experience with everyone. I hope someone out there can benefit from this video. If at a minimum it encourages someone on the fence to take the plunge into AP then it was worth the effort of making the video.

https://youtu.be/0A3NFrnWTYg    

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply
30 minutes ago, Ouroboros said:

I enjoyed that, Jason, and I'm not a newbie. Your enthusiasm really comes over.  As you say, lots there to encourage someone starting out. :)  Thanks for making and posting it. 

Thank you for your kind words.  I am really glad you enjoyed watching.  I think there are a lot of people out there who want to give AP a try but believe it is only possible with high-end gear.  Certainly the high price gear does produce fantastic images but I am glad I started where I am at.  Eventually I will move up but for now I am more than happy. 

Best regards,

Jason

17 minutes ago, Paul M said:

Indeed, an enjoyable watch and a very approachable approach to imaging the night sky!