SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from an absolute newbie in Peterborough, UK

Trollinthewall

Hello all :)

Just thought I'd  introduce myself I'm a 22 year old guy based in Peterborough, Cambridgeshire  who's within the last year been developing a huge interest in the stars and anything space related however have not really acted upon it till now and decide to give it a go, thought I'd join you guys here as you all seem a friendly bunch who would always be willing to help. Am currently just reading the late and great Patrick Moores Astronomy: Teach Yourself A Complete Introduction and loving it, its interesting and easy for me to understand, learning so much from it. Have just currently a pair of 10x50 binoculars to look up at the sky with at the moment, although not got much chance to look through them due to poor weather here, not in any rush to buy a scope yet as I thought it'd be better to aquaint myself with the night sky and it's various sights through binoculars first until I know how to look for and track stuff manually, then I'll start looking for a scope didn't want to make a beginner's mistake and just rush in to buying one straight off the bat.

Well I think that's me done, hope you guys don't mind joining me on the very start of my adventure into the world of astronomy and any tips you have for an absolute beginners like me would be much appreciated, sure I'll be posting lots more questions haha :)

George :)

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi George, and welcome from the land down under

Before you rush out and buy a scope, work out what going to use it for

Observing or AP as well.

Check out any local astronomy clubs in your area, as members only too happy to show you their scope, and clubs also run info nights

Have a 10" collapsible Skywatcher dob, and a ED80 on EQ5 mount

Cambridge is one place in England, been wanting to visit for a very long time