Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Fireworks Galaxy Widefield

iksose7

Another final process i done the other night. Had the data for a couple weeks now and have had many different versions but this one i enjoy the most.

I was able to pull out some of the nice the galactic cirrus dust in this area using new techniques involving luminance layers which i have never used before. Without them i wasnt able to bring any of the IFN to the surface! I cant actually find an image that shows more of the flux nebula than i have here but if anybody knows of one i would be interested in seeing it just to compare. 

The Fireworks Galaxy Widefield

Exposure Details:
70* 300 seconds, f7, ISO 800, calibration frames, 805mm
Scope: Altair Astro 115EDT
Camera: Canon 600Da
Mount: NEQ6

I should add that the darker area around the galaxy that appears to be void of dust is an accurate representation as far as i can tell. At first i though i was creating it during processing but after looking at other images it seems that it is actually there. Also the galaxy appears to have a veil of dust over it which i have a feeling is part of the galaxy itself and not the IFN, but this is only the 'feel' i got during processing. I also refrained from using Gradient Exterminator as i found it was endangering to the faint IFN data.

Thanks for looking guys!

Thanks for the feedback Sara, i agree. I uploaded the image to Facebook last night and it seemed to drop the reds a little which made me realise how strong they looked on here and flickr. I'll have to sort that out at some point!