Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from rural Devon.

cheddar-man

I'm an 82yo long time amateur wildlife photographer who has been hooked on the heavens since I witnessed the Perseids meteor shower the other month.

I picked up a Sky Watcher Star Adventurer mount and am learning how too use it - not impressed with the illuminator but I have found a remedy for that on this forum 😁

I've watched loads of Youtube and read copious copy and am amazed at my first attempt last week with Andromeda.................

I'm using a Sony RX10Miv camera on the mount and this is the result of just 20 X 30sec Lights at ISO1600 f4 (note the tech language already 😎) and 10 Darks  & Biases processed in SiriL with a bit of touch-up in Photos (Mac-Book pro.)

result.jpg

Edited by cheddar-man
  • Like 12

Great image that, well done with the star adventurer. I'm not far from you in rural North Cornwall, I was looking at the omegon mini track lx2 for my canon 450d for a quick mount onto my tripod for outdoor use without batteries, the star adventurer is a bit out of my price range. 

Wow! Fantastic first image! :) 

Welcome to SGL! I think everyone knows what you mean about being hooked... I had a couple of years break for one reason or another but now I'm back and raring to go... this hobby always brings you back around in the end!

• Like 1

Hi and welcome to SGL........I too have had a life long interest in photography and astronomy after reading books at school...I'm now 52.