Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello

Karen Bexley

I've had an interest in astronomy for a few years, but I've never seemed to have the time to really get into it.

The current lockdown has created a new perspective on that, which is something that can be done from home.

The skies where I live in the New Forest  provide excellent viewing possibilities, particularly due to the lack of street lighting that would otherwise be an interference.

I'm by no means an expert on the night skies but hope to widen my knowledge through our enforced lockdown period.

• Like 8

Thank you Peter.

That is an impressive set of equipment you have there.  At the moment, I have a pair of binoculars and a field scope I bought for bird watching 🤭

Maybe one day I will venture out and obtain a celestial telescope 🙂

Welcome to SGL and the world of Astronomy.  Yes Astronomy is certainly a hobby that lends itself to isolation and suits the lock down, except I cannot get to my dark location campsite, so am stuck in SE London/NW Kent with bad light pollution.

You are lucky being based in the New Forest, the skies must be awsome.

Lots of friendly and helpful people on here.  If you do decide to get a telescope, make sure to ask for advice as there are different set ups for different things, such as observing with a manual "push to" type telescopes, Motorisde GOTO telescopes, and specific kit for astrophotography.

Carole 

Thank you all for your lovely welcome 😚 (definitely only virtual kisses at the moment 😉 )

I will most certainly take your advice Carole and ask for help when I eventually get around to going for a telescope.  That terminology you used there is a little confusing, so I will need a lot of help I think.

The skies are indeed awesome here Carole, and I feel very lucky to be living here.

Everyone seems very friendly on this Forum, which is a great bonus for someone starting out on a new hobby.