Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hey Guys, I have set my self a budget and after reading peoples recommendations, i've got some equipment together. I am new to this and before buying, i want to know if this set up is ideal ... Thanks In Advance, just want some reassurance haha :) Matthew

SkyWatcher NEQ6 PRO SynScan Equatorial Mount & Tripod

Explore Scientific ED APO 80mm f/6 Deluxe FCD-100 Hex-Focus

Altair 60mm Guide Scope & GPCAM2 Mono Guide Camera

Baader RGB Filter Set 1.25 Inch With IR Cutoff Filter

SkyWatcher 5 Position Filter Wheel

SkyWatcher Light Pollution Filter 1.25 Inch
Nikon t ring & 1.25 inch adapter 
Nikon d5200 (not astro edited)

I think the NEQ6 might be superseded by the EQ6-R.

Is there a flattener available for the ES 80 that you are looking at?  You will need a flattener for DSO imaging.

Focus - Bahtinov mask?

If you are planning on using a Nikon, why are you bothering with filters?  For CCD imaging, I'd get the CCD filter set from Baader - https://www.firstlightoptics.com/rgb-filters-filter-sets/baader-lrgbc-ccd-filter-set.html  However, if you are thinking about lunar/planetary imaging, then the absorptive filters are OK .... But you are a little short of focal length for planetary.  DSO and solar system imaging are really two different beasts that require different set-ups.  I wouldn't try to find a compromise 'one scope to rule them all' - it doesn't exist - I've tried it - it cost me money!

I'd suggest that the setup is looking more on the dso side rather than planetary so can't see the use of the filters/filter wheel unless it's for using with the gp cam? 

You will need a field flattener reducer...

If it's for planets,I'd look at other scopes..as it will work but there's others that will do a better job..