Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Ancient newbie

rubecula

Hi,  I live in the UK on the Hampshire / Surrey border.  Having reached my 4 score years and ten, I've taken up astronomy.  For that big birthday my wife encouraged me to do something about my interest in astronomy so I bought a Celestron AVX 8" EdgeHD last October. 

Having got it home I realised that it was too heavy and time consuming to have to completely assemble it every time I wanted to use it, so with the help of a local fabrication shop I made a trolley to move it about.  It now lives in the garage at the front of the house and has to be wheeled into the back garden to observe away from the streel lights.

Even this is not ideal.  I've been a long time amateur photographer and so naturally I want to continue this into the world of astronomy.  Even with the trolley it still takes me ages to get the scope out, levelled and polar aligned so I've recently ordered an observatory.  Hopefully I'll now be able to make the most of the glimpses of clear sky that we get here in the UK.

At this point I'm clambering up a very steep learning curve but as my knowledge goes up my bank balance goes down :smiley:

Best wishes,

Robin

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Robin and welcome to the forum. Not only are climbing a steep learning curve but an expensive one as well - but if you are getting some fun out of it then keep it going!

Clear skies and hope you enjoy the forum.

Hi Robin and welcome to SGL, may I be very forward and question your 4 score years and ten, I shall shortly be into my Eighties and I am finding observing a lot more difficult than I used too. Its now more often with bins than the scope, for ease of use, I find the cold a bit more biting now, than a few years back. If you are into your Nineties, then you have my admiration, well done. Enjoy your AP and scope :)