Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello all

This is my first post and my name is Gerry I am not a complete newbie as I have done a lot of research on this and have had some experience in the past. I'm English but live in Italy. I hope we can have some really good discussions.

This is what I want to achieve I am interested in astrophotography for deep space. In fact I have a passion for it. I have done loads of research but I would like to ask some of the pros out there some questions that I don't seem to be finding the answers. Here it goes

I seem to have come to the conclusion that I need a apochromatic telescope with a field flattener but I have noticed that they are not cheap! Is there a another way I can do it cheaper and still get the same results?

I know everybody says that the Mount is paramount and 70% of your budget should be spent on it but if I am able for example to have an EQ 3–2 Mount with a auto guide on it will that not do the same as a more expensive mount? I notice for this man now you can buy a new motor and with a ST4 slot where you can add a separate Autoguider. Has anyone got experience with these? 

For example 
http://www.opticalvision.co.uk/astronomical_accessories-motor_drives_and_goto_upgrades/enhanced-dual-axis-motor-drive-for-eq3-2-mount.html

Last question. I have seen CCD autoguider  that also double up as a camera for deep space. Has anyone had any experience with these as I do not have a dslr so I can start this route if it's viable. 

Yes I know it's a lot of questions but until I get this straight I can't make the right purchase. 

Any suggestions that you would have I would be very grateful to hear them.

Many thanks in advance

Gerry

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply