SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from the South East of England

JimStanley

I have been a member for a few days, and have been following many of the comments with interest. I have finally decided to post my first ever post (first post on any forum – ever, so pretty daunting!).

I am new to Astronomy, and although I have always had a very keen interest, I have never had the time to pursue it – but now I have, so I have decided to buy my first Telescope. I am really interested in Astrophotography, and already have a Canon 100d DSLR and a decent Laptop which I intend to use with my new scope.

So my question is which scope?

All of the reference material I have read states “don’t by a scope until you have joined a club first” which is what I intend to do (Mid Kent Astronomical Society, http://www.midkentastro.org.uk ). The other thing I have also read, is that the mount is the most important piece of Kit (?).

So far I have come up with two possibilities:-

Sky-Watcher Explorer 150PDS EQ5 PRO GOTO Newtonian Reflector Telescope - £732.00

Celestron Advanced VX Series 6-inch Newtonian Telescope - £762.00

Do you think the VX is worth the extra £30?

Cheers

Jim

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Jim and welcome to SGL - If you are interested in imaging DSO's in particular (galaxies, nebula's - Not planets) then can I suggest buying a copy of the book Making Every Photon Count from the book section of the FLO website before you spend a single penny. Read it once...... twice ..... thrice and then think again about what you need and why. Then you will be in a better position to make an informed choice.

For what it's worth, the HEQ5 and ED80 often get recommended as a great starting place and for good reason. This sort of setup is the basis for many an imagers rig and you will not go wrong with it.

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Hi Jim,