Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher 200P, or 150P-DS

Hello everyone,

I looking for first time buyer advice...

I have been a landscape photographer for over 15 years and have been obsessed with night time photography. However, I would like to follow a childhood dream of owning a telescope and photographing the wonders the universe holds.

My dilemma is, do I go for maximum light capabilities, or focus control? I have reduced my choices to the Skywatcher 200P, or the Skywatcher 150P-DS, both with a EQ5-PRO.

My past experience tells me I should be going for maximum light input of the 200P to reduce chance of noise, but the 150P-DS has a duel speed 10:1 ratio focuser.

Any advice would be greatly received. 

All the best

Richard Shore

Hi Richard,

If you're wanting to do deep sky AP, a HEQ5 is usually considered a minimum, as previous replies have mentioned. The 200P is quite large and will be a bit of a sail in the wind, (not good for long exposures). The 150P-DS was designed with AP in mind, and it'll be easier to focus using a DSLR, and even a dedicated astro cam, if ever you get one. Both scopes are f/5, so the 200P's larger aperture won't make a difference, so long as you use longer exposure times.

Josh

Edited by JoshHopk
Typo
  • Like 2

1 hour ago, JoshHopk said:

Hi Richard,

If you're wanting to do deep sky AP, a HEQ5 is usually considered a minimum, as previous replies have mentioned. The 200P is quite large and will be a bit of a sail in the wind, (not good for long exposures). The 150P-DS was designed with AP in mind, and it'll be easier to focus using a DSLR, and even a dedicated astro cam, if ever you get one. Both scopes are f/5, so the 200P's larger aperture won't make a difference, so long as you use longer exposure times.

Josh

Very helpful, thank you for your help. I will go for a HEQ5 and aim for a 150P-DS scope

5 hours ago, JoshHopk said:

Hi Richard,

Josh