Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Здравейте!

MetroiD

Hello one and all - or "здрасти" as we casually say around these parts! I've been enjoying the forums and the wealth of information they provide quite a bit lately so I figured it's time I registered and tried to make a contribution.

I consider myself someone who's just starting to find their feet around astronomy as a hobby / particular area of interest. For the theoretical part of things, last year I enrolled in a wonderful master's degree program in Astronomy at the local university aimed at complete beginners / outsiders to the world of physics & space, and am currently looking at formulating and defending a thesis in half a year's time, which I would ideally like to base around the scientific merits of observational astronomy. In practical terms, my experience is rather limited - I did purchase an Olympus Trooper DPS I 10x50 a few years back but have not really done too much stargazing using the binoculars. Having said that, an incredibly beautiful sighting of the M42 nebula on a cold winter's night from my very own balcony in the heart of downtown Sofia is what ignited my desire to get serious about Astronomy in the first place - so I now consider the 10x50 binos an essential part of my "kit" which I use to get myself familiarized with the local skies whenever I travel to foreign lands.