Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Most memorable observing moment?

Analysis Paralysis

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 minute ago, Analysis Paralysis said:

What is your most memorable observing moment - the one memory that you will never forget? 

First time I ever laid eyes on Saturn...it would bring tears to a glass eye ?

I've been observing for 30+ years so I have a few !

- Total eclipse from Marazion beach in Cornwall

- Total lunar eclipse when the full moon went blood red and all the stars suddenly leapt into view

- Transit of Venus

- Transit of Mercury

- My 1st supernova

- Saturn with my old 60mm refractor at 3:00 am about 35 years ago

Quite a few more too - theres a lot of wonders out there ! :icon_biggrin:

The sharpest pencil dot sized shadow cast by Io as it transited the face of Jupiter, not only that, but on this occasion quite a bit of planetary detail too, more than I normally encounter, due to the perfect position of Jupiter and the seeing conditions.

I've many but perhaps the one I will not forget was when I was lifting my youngest son up to the eyepiece of the vx14 to look at the moon. I was about to put him down and he suddenly lunged back for another look, saying "... wait! let me see if there are any footsteps!".

Must have been about four or five years old in the early 1950s. Partial eclipse of the Sun. Looking down at the concrete path in our back garden, I saw hundreds of little crescent suns. I guess the leaves on a neighbour's tree acted  as multiple pinhole cameras. That remains one of a very few pre-school  memories and my earliest astro-observation.

1998 Leonids observed from high up in the hills behind Nice in the South of France.

You could see them in daylight as we drove up into the hills. And you could still see them at dawn as we drove back down.

A constant barrage of fireballs, so bright that they cast shadows on the ground.

Wisps of green smoke in the upper atmosphere, twisting.