Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Danger - I tried goto and I liked it!

Paz

I went on my second ever observing meet recently. Ive been observing for 4 years but with clouds, and everything else in life, getting to prearranged sessions almost never happens for me.

Anyway at this meet all the other scopes I saw had computers and  goto.

I didnt think much of it but when i got talking to a chap with goto , anytime a target came up in conversation he would have the scope on it in seconds! we were tearing around the sky looking at all sorts. My scope sat there dewing up and getting lonely.

Ive never seen so many things in one go, and by the end of the evening I will privately admit I was impressed - but dont tell anyone  I said this!

I do prefer finding things myself and wont change anything at the moment but when one person mentioned they had been finding things manually for 20 years and were now enjoying a different approach I thought that is a comment I will keep in mind for the future.

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have been a manual finder and nudger for years too and resisted the dark arts of go-to.

Bought an AVX mount a while back and found it amazing, find things fast and tracking, wow.

The down side - always a downside - it made the sessions too easy and far to much to see far too easily.

Am I a Luddite?   Yes, most probably to be honest.

Will I go back to find and nudge, hmmm, not sure about this, but probably do both in reality.

ohh and its too late now, we all know you really want a go-to dob really!

Did you witness the setup and everything that goes with it to make GoTo actually work properly? You could have been observing before them!