Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What am I doing wrong

Hi all,

i need help please, I am brand new to astronomy, I bought myself the skywatcher startravel 120eq, I saw the moon superbly in the morning.

i used it last night with the eyepieces provided, 10mm and 25mm. With the Barlow lense. I looked at Venus, mars and had a go on Orion. All that came up was what I describe as they all looked very dark and like a cd disc as I zoomed in with a perfect circle with smaller circles in the centre. Also a lot of squiggly bits like I was back at school looking through a microscope.

do I need to buy better eyepieces?.

Thank you in advance for any advice given.

Hi, just keep focusing until the little circles become dots- stars should be as small as you can get them. I would say forget the barlow for the moment. The 25mm gives the widest and brightest views. Have a look at the orion nebula in the 25mm and you will be hooked. Good luck. 

Hi!

You must remember that you cannot zoom with telescopes. After you insert your eyepiece in to the telescope, you just need to rotate focuser knobs (black knobs both sides of scope focuser) to find focal point. Easiest way to figure this out is to practise this in daylight. Find target far far far away and insert either 10mm or 25mm eyepiece. Then start turning knobs and soon you will have crisp image in eyepiece. Now fast forward to night time and use this same method with stars. You have red dot finder with your scope. Use that, it will help you to point bright star in night sky. 

Hello and welcome to SGL. What you describe sounds like you are not adjusting the focus correctly. Normal telescope eyepieces have a fixed focal length and do not "zoom" . The magnification for a given eyepiece is calculated by dividing the focal length of the telescope by the focal length of the eyepiece. eg focal length telescope (600) / focal length eyepiece (10mm) = 60x magnification.