Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

NewStart in London - please advice what to look at

Hi guys,

Recently I have received quite a nice toy "Skywatcher 250 DOB GOTO" and now simply learning how to use it correctly.

It is quite a big one, so I am able to use it from my back garden only, so I am able to see SOUTH, SE and SN directions.

At the moment I use just a default 26mm EP without any other items, - I do have Bluer Filter which is left in the box till the moon will show up.

During last two weeks I have managed to look at bright stars and M45 only, I always failed to see Andromeda, GOTO system helps me to find the location, but I do not see anything.

I am not sure what can I see from back-garden in London as it is quite light polluted, can anyone advise me, please?

Sounds like a great telescope. I'm a beginner as well and there are far more qualified people on this web site to give you great advice but I have to recommend the book Turn Left At Orion. As far as I'm concerned it is a must have when starting out with astronomical observation. It explains everything you need to know at the start of your observing experience and lists and tells you how to find hundreds of interesting objects in the night sky.

Welcome aboard, and must say nice wee(OK maybe not so 'wee'!) Scope,

you should be able to see Andromeda even with the light pollution that I'm sure you have in your part of the world. Providing that your goto is all set up properly one of the possible reasons might be your expectations m51- like all deep sky stuff- will just appear as a faint smudge of light on your ep, don't expect to see when you might have seen in magazines or online. This is a good read when starting out.

You will also have plenty of people recommending you to download a program called 'stellarium'. This is a fantastic Origen that will show you exactly what is in your sky at your location at any time, plus it's free! 

Good luck!

Popeye