NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR cameras

Janus

Hey 

I want to get started with astrophotography so i'm thinking of buying a DSLR camera, i have been looking at the canon 1100D and the nikon D3300
any pros or cons - and what cameras are you using / could suggest? 

thanks 

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Canon for me, lots of support on here and really good connectivity support. I felt for me starting out first time with a dslr that was important.

I have a canon 1100d and for astro use connect it to my 7 inch android tablet running dslr controller as I don't have a laptop.

I use the D3300 for astrophotography and get these pictures with the kit-lens. If you want to do deep sky astrophotography I've not YET tried to use the D3300. I'm not a professional and the photos are single photos edited in Lightroom cc. Overalls the D3300 is a very good camera also at high iso's.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

My personal view is that the Canon camera has a few advantages over the Nikon for AP.

Bigger knowledge base, lots of people use them.

Software is still more readily available for the Canon.

Availability of older lenses that can be made to fit and achieve infinity focus.

Alan

22 minutes ago, Bossen said:

I use the D3300 for astrophotography and get these pictures with the kit-lens. If you want to do deep sky astrophotography I've not YET tried to use the D3300. I'm not a professional and the photos are single photos edited in Lightroom cc. Overalls the D3300 is a very good camera also at high iso's.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Hello thanks for the comments, Bossen rly nice photos - have you tried to use it on your telescope and with a t-ring ( and which one)? 

on a side note, do you have some pictures of the moon or some planets you can show with the D3300