Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hey guys, I'm totally new to this, someone gave me a reflecting telescope as above for free but it's missing the eyepiece and the finderscope. I started looking into getting the missing pieces and what they would cost me, but apparently there are many different options. The same telescope is listed on Amazon for $100 and comes brand new with 3 eyepieces SR4, H12 and H20 and a red dot finder. Am I correct to assume it would cost me more than $100 or about the same to get these missing parts alone? Are there better components I can get instead of the standard ones it comes with and is it worth investing in them, or is this telescope basically a piece of junk and I shouldn't bother, just skip to buying a better one? I'm obviously a novice, but wouldn't want to get stuck with something too basic once start to get more into it. What would you do? Appreciate any piece of advice!

Personally, if you have a bigger budget, I would not bother with this scope, the main problem being the horribly wobbly looking mount and tripod. If you did want to experiment you could buy a low power eyepiece like the BST Starguider 25mm and just try sweeping the Milky Way and some bright objects and see how you get on. You can always re-use the eyepiece on a better scope later.  

But the best option IMO is to get a scope like these which are much more capable:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian.html

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/sky-watcher-heritage-150p-flextube-tabletop-dobsonian.html

Hope that helps. 

Edited by RobertI
  • Like 2

As Robert suggests, this is a very entry level low quality telescope. The suggested max magnification of x525 is a joke.  If you buy three eyepieces of good quality and a red dot finder, expect to spend at least $150. Your money would be better spent on a complete outfit of better quality, as suggested. 

Edited by Cosmic Geoff
  • Like 2