Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from new member in Manchester

Les N

Hi all my name is Les, I have had a telescope for probably going on for 12 months but have been steadily adding to the collection of equipment which seems strangely addictive. I started my little collection with my Meade ETX 105. I have collected different things since like webcams and fittings to attach my SLR camera to my telescope. Probably like most of you on here I soon wanted a better scope but my tight budget (very tight) restricted the possibilities. I found a Celestron C6 SCT OTA, but that was the OTA on it's own though and the chances of an affordable tripod and mount didn't seem too likely. However I also spotted a Gazer GEM 1 mount and tripod with it's motors and hand control at a reasonable price so I purchased the telescope and mount set up. I am a complete beginner at astronomy so while you all probably are thinking "not the best gear" it has got me started and I have even managed some reasonable photographs, again not a high standard but what I feel is a good quality for a start with some nice clear shots of the moon. I have recently also purchased an Ascension StarSky 90 at a very good price, I am not sure where it stands in the quality ratings but it seems to give good wider views which has given me a different view than my other scopes and impressed me with the depth of the sky and stars that I can see.

I have even collected a Vixen GP mount along the way but it has no motors fitted and though I have the weight bar I have no weights to fit it either. Maybe in future I can get these but I don't know yet what I would have to look for to get motors that would fit.

Any way I will be kicked right off here for being too boring if I am not careful so just wanted to say hi to everyone.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply