NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

A New Bumbling Amateur!

Notty

Hello everyone, I've been lurking a while but finally took the plunge and bought myself a 'scope. I'm 45, with 2 small kids so not a huge amount of free time, but I fly aeroplanes for a living and for a long time now the night time views above the skies have fired my imagination. I want to start exploring the cosmos and ultimately, to get into AP.

I've bought myself a SW 80ED DS-PRO which will sit atop an EQ5-Synscan. Now I know, this isn't ideal for AP but I just couldn't stretch to the HEQ5 £££ (cough), and the chap on the phone from my supplier said the EQ5 Pro is quite capable of some AP albeit workmanlike with that scope/weight. I'd love to hear from anyone with similar kit, in order: to

a) Tell me what I want to hear i.e it won't be a complete disaster for AP! :confused:

B) Help me with some of my rather fundamental questions on this equipment.

I did lots of reading first, but having got the kit along with what laughably passes as SW's "instructions" I realise I am in for a whole world of pain! I naively expected after spending nearly £1000 on equipment that the documentation would be at least specific to my kit, if not the easiest to follow. It's neither! :eek:

It arrived yesterday and I've already the proud owner of a bent front Alt-adjustment bolt, so I'm stalled pending the shop opening Monday anyway.

Anyway, nice to meet you all!

Andy

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Andy welcome to SGL, im convinced the suppliers of telescopes think only geeks buy them and they know everything anyway so why waste paper giving instructions :grin:.

trial and error mate and a possible visit to youtube might provide you with some help, good luck you`ll soon be up and running, (when you get a new bolt).

Hi Andy. Welcome to SGL.

I'm saving for a similar scope myself (although the HEQ5 is going to come first for some widefiled AP).