Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The three season approach

stevetynant

I only bought my scope in January this year - so this is my first year properly observing - the learning curve was quite steep starting off from zero but along the way I've gained a bit of knowledge, met some great people and now more importantly feel reasonably confident in what I'm doing.

My enthusiasm when I first started was off the scale - every night checking the curtains to see whether there were clear skies - constantly tired in the days from staying out in the early hours of the morning. Thankfully my enthusiasm is still there but the last few months have been so frustrating with poor weather and the light nights - it was not something I was really prepared for or even considered. But I've used the time to get my kit upgraded and modded am ready to start again.

I've decided though that Astronomy for me at least is a three season hobby - it ends at the beginning of May and will start again Mid August (although the Bins are always to hand for the odd deck chair session) I think this approach has a lot of advantages.

It keeps you fresh and enthusiastic - my other great love is rugby but when playing and now watching - at the end of each season I was not looking forward to the next match - over saturation had happened I guess but a summer break (with the odd Lions tour to look forward to) and I was ready and excited for the new season to start. I feel the same about astronomy now although for me as a new starter to the hobby it will feel like starting over again but this time armed with a lot more knowledge (I'm hoping to be at about 50 Messiers by the end of the winter this time around)

Removes the frustration - you would think the winter would be worse weather but I seem to remember more clear nights after January than I have during so this so called summer of ours and at least you don't have the light nights to contend with.