Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I'm new to this, I appreciate advice :-)

Angelika

I am going to purchase an Orion Skyquest XT8 dobsonian telescope in the next month. From all the different articles I have read, it sounds like the best choice for a first telescope. I have been sky watching with my 7 x 50 binocs for a long, long time. I would like some advice from someone who has this telescope, about eye pieces. I've picked a Hyperion Zoom 8-24mm instead of getting a bunch of eye pieces. Is this a good choice? I want to be able to see the rings of Jupiter for instance, will this be possible with the Orion? I am so excited about getting my first scope.

Thanks for any and all advise to the newbie...

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Angelika and welcome to SGL.

You have made an excellent choice with the XT8.

The Hyperion is a good zoom giving excellent flexibility in allowing you to tune the magnification to the seeing conditions.

I would also add a good x2 Barlow to the zoom as the 8mm setting will only give x150 which is a little low for the planets.

Once cooled and collimated you will see a lot of planetary detail with this scope. The rings of Saturn, the Cassini division and surface banding will be very easy. Details on Jupiters surface will be visible and you'll see surface markings on Mars and the polar cap. Check out the sketching section to see what can be seen and drawn.

Clear skies.

As well as a Barlow, you might consider a wide field eyepiece, as the Hyperion zoom is a little narrow (to put it mildly) on it's widest setting.

Remember - if zooms were all that were needed, manufacture of other eyepieces would have ceased a long time ago.

HI angelika,

Welcome to SGL.

I want to be able to see the rings of Jupiter for instance