Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The Dutch invasion

Steem

Hello! I'm sorry if this looks like a Dutch Invasion but since "our" forum changed for the worst 2 friends pointed this forum out to me. I haven't looked round that much but according to them this site has a very good atmosphere (no pun intended) and is a lot less chaotic. Not that I can't work with the other one, but there is something like "too much".

So, a little introduction; My name is Steven Lantinga, 25 years old and from Apeldoorn, the Netherlands. My occupation is web programmer (html, css, java, php & msql) and I'm following a 4 year long photography study.

I stumbled along this hobby when I read a newsreport about the Cassini-Huygens mission to Titan in 2005 during my internship. I got hooked, and was constantly looking for Saturn in the night sky while riding my bike! When my internship ended school took op a lot of time again until I graduated in 2006. I then suddenly regained my interest and searched the internet for hubble images, telescopes, wiki's and finally a (Dutch) forum. This got the ball rolling and now I find myself the owner of a 5" f/9.44 and a 5" f/6.44 refractor, a 10" f/5 dobson, a Vixen GP and a Losmandy GM8 with a 12" f/4 OO mirror on the way.

This season I plan on taking more pictures with my Canon 5D mkII and f/70-200 2.8 lens. But primarily my interest goes out to observing and Roel is trying to get me to sketch more. This year I finished my Messier list and I am carefully starting with the H400 list.

I hope I can give my contribution to this forum and have some fun here.

Best regards,

Steven

PS: Steem is my nickname derived from Steven and a countrysides way of pronouncing it (like Staym, not Steam), something we call "plat".

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the SGL Forum Steem, I'm sure you will enjoy it here.

We have a strong International mix, and we all get along just fine.