Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings

MrFreeze

Hello there.

Time to introduce myself I guess. I'm hardly a newcomer to astronomy - I was introduced to it when I was bought the "Observer's Book of Astronomy" back in 1967 as a Christmas present by my godfather. I used a pair of 8 X 30 binoculars (which I still have), and was bought a Tasco newtonian 120mm? reflector (long gone) by my parents one Christmas. I studied Astrophysics at university, and was secretary of the Sussex University Astronomy Society. After leaving university I moved to north London and didn't have a chance to do any astronomy whilst living in various rented accomodation. Eventually moved out of London and bought a house, but didn't do much astronomy as there is so much light pollution, and money was tight, so just persevered with the Tasco (optics not bad, but the mount was awfull).

I married my wife in the Philippines and lived there for a while which was interesting - clear skies, but streetlights totally unscreened. In 2012 we decided to get a better scope so bought a Skywatcher Evostar-90, supplemented in 2018 by a Skywatcher Explorer 150PL secondhand, and this last week by an Orion Apex-127. (Probably why the weather has turned)

I would like to thank Astro Baby for her collimation instructions, without which I would never have managed to re-collimate the newtonian. Everyone else on here stresses how important collimation is, but no one else tells you how to do it.

Finally - are there any instructions anywhere for this website - I find it almost totally baffling - 'likes' 'following' -seems like facebook, and I never could figure that out.

Clear skies

David

Hello and a warm welcome from damp Cheshire. I am now imagining you working at an Iceland warehouse and even living in there! No good, but at least you will not go hungry, as long as you don't mind sucking the food thawed, then nibbling the mush... :tongue: