NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from Manchester.

11mahW

Hi SGL,

I've been a semi-frequent lurker here over the last year or so. I've been observing the sky when possible through a good pair of binoculars, i travelled to a dark site a few month back to try my hand at some astrophotography (failed miserably, completely botched my camera settings) and visited a local astronomy club twice. Other than these half hearted attempts to take up astronomy i'm pretty much a complete beginner.

I recently ordered a SkyWatcher Skyline 150P Dobsonian telescope, i'm super excited for it to arrive, although now sort of wishing i would've forked out the extra £60 and gone for the 8", ah well. I have ordered a few accessories to go with my scope, a Telrad, Barlow with a T-adapter and a Canon T-ring - I'm not too interested in deep field Astrophotography right away, Turn Left At Orion to get me kicked off observing the sky. 

Just wondering if anyone has any tips or anything i'm missing, if anyone has any recommendations for certain eyepieces to go with my scope. I'll mostly be observing from my backyard under bortle 7 skies with hopefully frequent visits to darker sights once COVID has passed. I'm based in the Greater Manchester area if anyone knows of any dark sites that are accessible.

Appreciate any advice or comments anyone can give. Cheers!

*EDIT*:

Just editing straight away to ask a few more questions,

1) Will it be necessary for me to culminate my scope when it arrives?

2) With the Telrad, am i right in assuming this basically replaces the use of my Finderscope? 

Cheers.

Edited by 11mahW
  • Like 2