SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Deep sky observing tips please

Cor, i feel like a newbie asking this but here goes:

I dont do a lot of DSO.........i am not very good at finding things, but i want to get more out of the 120ED/giro combo rather than just pointing it at the moon!, so if you please lets have tips and pointers for deep sky viewing, anything you feel might be relevant like what eyepiece size, how to find and so on

this will not only help me, but should stand newcomers in good stead :happy11:

Hello nightfisher and welcome to SGL (sorry I could not resist that?)

With limited aperture then most DSO can be difficult to locate with limited aperture. But the brighter ones can be located with the 120ed. A good star map certainly helps. But most importantly with the DSO are atmosphere and especially"Dark site" conditions . Therefore if you are in a light polluted area then do travel to somewhere  darker to get the best possible conditions for DSO

With regards to eyepieces then a nice wide angle eyepiece in around the 82d range will help you locate those faint fuzzys. I use a nagler 20mm which seems to help.

If you really cannot get on with finding things by star hoping, then the answer needs to be a good goto mount, and this will take you to the correct location. But dark sky's are the number one requirement for DSO IMO

I hope the above helps☺

I hope you get some great use from the new scope - looks an absolute beauty. Here's what I've learned in a year or so of DSO hunting. Looking forwards to reading how you get on! :smile:

Dark skies generally trump pretty much anything else.

Be patient at the eyepiece. Detail can slowly reveal itself over many minutes. Return to the same target to see more and more each time.

In terms of technique/kit, listen to the advice of others but also experiment to see what works for you.