NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Enough is enough!

I could well be talking to an empty forum, as, if like me you have perfectly clear skies, but unlike me you lucky lot all have scopes to be viewing it with!

So I need to sort this out and stop messing about choosing what to buy, so I am going to put it out for general vote!  How democratic of me.

If your life depended on it, and you had to choose one of the following scopes, which one would you choose and why?

Option A - Sky-Watcher Star Discovery 150P

Option B - Celestron 31145 NexStar 130 SLT

Bear in mind I am a complete amateur.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Option A star discovery. Can be used totally manually so if the batteries go flat you can still be observing and moving the telescope. (I have not watched any videos on the other mount).

Both these telescopes are reflectors so if you have no reason to not go for one specifically then bigger aperture would probably scratch aperture fever itch for longer.

Neither.

I would do more research by getting in touch with a local Astronomy Society and attend an observing session where I would have a chance to actually look through different scopes, after which I could make an educated decision on a purchase. 

Whichever has the best potential part-ex value....for when you upgrade! :)

But seriously, go for simplest to use.

The Skywatcher is a great scope and such a thing was beyond my wildest dreams as a beginner, when it would have been considered a serious scope.

The  Discovery 150 looks the better telescope on specification! yet I  wouldn't buy either scope  today?

I  have used and experienced a  similar  telescope  like the two you  mention, and from the first session, I had to upgrade to something  that better suited my needs. The resulting telescope  has  better views and easier to use!