NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mr Cat

MrCat

Hi there folks!

I'm totally new to the world of star gazing with anything other than my own eyes or a youtube documentary :)

I have always fantasised about being able to afford a decent telescope, tho I know little about them other than they're generally out of my price range...

However!... I just scored a telescope from my local skip/dump/recycling centre for £30. There is no specific model name on it but it says 'Helios' and D=76mm and F=700ml on the side, and has 2 eye pieces one with H20mm and the other H8mm.

This is the closest thing google could find for me on a quick search just now - 

This all means pretty much nothing to me at the mo, and it's quite dusty. Hopefuly it's all good, I'm not sure what can go wrong with these things but anyway that's me and this is my beginnings of hopefully getting in some proper cool star gazing, I'm quite excited! :D

So I'm here to find out more from all you lovely people. I'll get some pics of the thing or a wee vid and post it up sometime soon and grill you for some tips and advice about cleaning it up and using it.

I'm from Scotland, out in the sticks in the wilds of Argyll so I think I'm pretty well placed with no light pollution...and the dark nights are setting in early.

I'm generally very up-beat, enthusiastic, and slightly mad.

Cheers folks
Catch y'all soon ;)

welcome

Quite a bargain for £30 to get started in a new hobby.

Stellarium is a brilliant free piece of software.

Don't worry if the mirror is dusty just use the telescope first the mirror can be quite bad and still not affect views.

A rubber rocket blower is useful to blow bigger debris/dust bits off the mirrors. These can be had for around £5 or less.

Hi MrCat,

Welcome to SGL.

Nice find and should get you started on the slippery road of astronomy where being slightly mad is a great asset... you have joined the right crowd.