Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total Newbie says hello

Skywise

Hi there

I've just received a Celestron 114EQ telescope for my Christmas pressie!  My hubby knows I've been hankering after a telescope for years and he's finally bought one for me - what a wonderful man he is.

I have a lot of enthusiasm and absolutely no knowledge of how to set up the equipment so please bear with me whilst I ask questions more suited to a 5 year old :)

Anyway, I'm very excited and am waiting for the cloud cover to break so I can see if the night sky outside my house actually does match the Stellarium pictures on my screen . . . . . . 

Hi Skywise :) Welcome to the Lounge.

You have entered into a fantastic pastime, and the questions will come thick and fast to you. ;)

Just ask away, the good folks on here, love helping out, and no question is deemed 'stupid' , the thing to remember is we all started the same, so we've all been there. ;)

I have a lot of enthusiasm and absolutely no knowledge of how to set up the equipment so please bear with me whilst I ask questions more suited to a 5 year old :)

That is unfair.

5 year olds ask some really sneeky questions.

I know I have been on the receiving end of quite a few.

Hi Skywise and welcome to the forum. No problem here with asking questions as that is the way to learn and improve your skills and knowledge - we've all been there and some of us are still there! :grin: The only daft question is the one you don't ask so pick a relevant section and ask away when the need arises.

Clear skies and hope you enjoy your stay.