SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How does work interfere with your stargazing ??

breezy

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a chef. I get up at 7am, and finish at around 22:30. It's very rare i get to observe anymore. :(

I usually get a break in the afternoon, but that's usually just enough to eat and smoke. Sometimes i'l do some solar observing.

Waiting to hear back about an interview i had last week for a software testing position. 37 hours a week and flexitime.... No evenings, no weekends, no stinking like a deep fryer, no moody girlfriend, and definitely no minimum wage. Fingers crossed!

I took early retirement last year so it's not an issue now. I did have to exercise some restraint when I was working though, especially if I had to travel or had early meetings the following day.

I guess it's a hobby at the end of the day (quite literally !) so it has to take it's place.

Retired five years ago so my time is my own. Keeping SWMBO happy is another story as she always has a list of things for me to do. As I am just starting in this hobby she hasn't been a hindrance yet. I'd put my foot down if she objects but she's smaller and quicker than me!

It affects me a lot too, in both good and bad ways, I work a 3 shift pattern so if Im early shift I cant do late observing sessions, If Im late shift I can go straight out observing at 22.30 staying out as late as I can. Nightshift has its moments too as I keep a set of bins in the car so during quiet spells I can nip out and have a peak at the sky... Orion has been stunning this past week in the pre dawn sky :)

If working then realistically observing means Fridays and Saturdays. To me this "seems" obvious but I only know of one club, in a total of 4, that actually has the sense to arrange their observing on this basis. :icon_scratch: Friend who sails said that astronomy is like sailing, best considered when retired.