Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Whats your thoughts on NINA?

simmo39

I have been using APT for a few years but have had afew problems with it just recently. Im about to wipe my laptop to reload the software to see if that clears the problem but somebody said try NINA. What are yoyr thoughts on it and does it have any problems?

I had a love/hate relationship with NINA, I really wanted to use it as the features and set up were perfect.

what I hated was the guiding integration on auto run, now I’m 100% sure it was operator error (it always is) but most of the suggestions I got to get around the issue were about starting guiding outside of Nina and then starting the auto run/plan. That indeed worked but that takes the “auto” out of auto run, after losing way too many precious clear night hours experimenting & not imaging I threw in the towel and went back to the safety of APT.

I’m sure my response will be responded to saying how you do this and do that, as I say I’m sure it’s 100% user error as I genuinely think NINA is a terrific application, just not for me. I’ve now simplified (because I’m simple) and gone the Asiair path so far with limited use it just WORKS, with limited time window before weather closed in Im up and running fully guided in minutes so far it does enough for me, Just my thoughts and experience.

clear skies 👍

Andy

• Like 2

17 minutes ago, Newforestgimp said:

think NINA is a terrific application, just not for me. I’ve now simplified (because I’m simple) and gone the Asiair path so far with limited use it just WORKS, with limited time window before weather closed in Im up and running fully guided in minutes so far it does enough for me, Just my thoughts and experience.

clear skies 👍

Andy

No, i think this is an excellent reason to not use NINA. In fact i believe there are none better than yours. If the AsiairPro just works, then go with that, i wish i could but my budget just cant handle that.