Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do I need dark frames?

I'm new to Astrophotography but I have learned alot these couple of months about ap and processing. 

I recently checked the forum about dark frames and dithering, and I have a question. 

I use a Canon eos 1100d (modded) and I have recently started using guiding = dithering. 

Do I need Darks if I'm dithering?

I know that temperature is an important factor when taking frames and because I'm using a dslr I cannot control the temp. I know that Darks is best to shoot right after the light frames but still, it's not the same temperatures..

I have read that some people say it can make the picture worse if I'm shooting darks (if dithering) because of the temp change. 

And some people says it make a small improvement. 

Darks can take a long time to shoot, I go for minimum 20 and max 40. But this is time that I can have put in on lightframes. 

What are your thoughts on this? 

I usually go for 20 Darks, Bias and Flats. 

No you don’t if you’re dithering, and to be honest I take a batch of bias  frames and keep them for a while before redoing, I just take flats on the night using a light panel , the during processing load the bias frames into the darks tab in DSS or what ever stacker you use , that seems to be the way to do it from reading on here .

Edited by bottletopburly
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

If you want to do proper calibration - yes you do.

There are certain cases where you can get away with not using darks, and in case when one does not have set point temperature - it can be difficult do properly apply them, so you need to be careful.

Not doing darks can lead to problems with flat calibration.