NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Buying 2nd hand eyepieces

As I have just started this hobby ive been looking to expand my collection of eyepieces.

And I see alot of eyepieces that comes up in the 2nd hand market place here on SGL but I dont have the nerve to buy since I dont know that much about ep´s. 

My question as a complete noob is what should I look out for ? Even if the EP looks nice in photos does the age of it come in play? would eyepiece X from 2015 be a better year than 2014? Or is it like a good wine :)

I would love to hear some pointers what to look for!

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Second hand is always a gamble. I have brought plenty second hand and never had a problem. Use respectable places like here or astro buy and sell rather than ebay for example. Astronomers tend to take care of there kit. Always pay with PayPal goods and services or credit card so you have some protection if things go wrong.

As for make and model, that will depend on what you want to do with it, what scope you have and what budget you have.

If you have a local club it might help to see what the members have. I tried out some es 100° before I went and spent alot of cash on something I might not of liked or got on with.

LIke @tuckstar I have bought many EPs here and astrobuysell and not had a problem, in fact most of my whole astro' gear is second hand. Some common sense and caution is always good and it does no harm to ask the seller questions if you are not sure. You can always post a specific question on the forum about an EP.

1 hour ago, tuckstar said:

Second hand is always a gamble. I have brought plenty second hand and never had a problem. Use respectable places like here or astro buy and sell rather than ebay for example. Astronomers tend to take care of there kit. Always pay with PayPal goods and services or credit card so you have some protection if things go wrong.