Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from Fort Collins, CO North America

Badweather

Greetings from Fort Collins, CO North America,

I just finally got a telescope.

A Celestron Nexstar 8SE.

We shall see if I made the right purchase.

I have been enjoying this scope since August 18th 2017.

Prior to this I have studied astronomy naked eye and with 7 x 35 Bushnell binoculars, NASA, Hubble images, wikipedia, etc.

i was first introduced to astronomy by my uncle who built a telescope from a kit he purchased from Edmund Scientific in 1973.

As an independent scholar I have continued to study cosmology, astrophysics, and astronomy the entire time between then and now. i frequently look up an object in Starry night only to find out that the object in question is in the southern celestial sphere and "I'll have to relocate to view it".

The first night I had my telescope, I had terrible skies, and being the first time, I failed to achieve alignment and looking up I saw Saturn in the sky. I slewed the scope and pointed it at what I thought was Saturn and peered into the eyepiece. I was gratified to see Saturn in my FOV.

I just recently purchased a 10 x 50 Celestron Up Close binocular for $34.00 and I'm surprised at the quality for that low a price.

I already know I want a 12 inch dob.

Looking forward to many great conversations here while I learn how to find things in the sky.

59f4e31b8c24c_denverchairmehappyaboutit.thumb.jpg.48996600d8263ac2198b5a7b80d66439.jpg

Welcome to the forum!  I lived in Ft. Collins for about 6 years in the early 2000's, nice town!  I also just recently got a Celestron 8SE and have been using it a lot up here in Gunnison.  It's a great scope for finding deep sky objects, I bet you will enjoy it!

15 minutes ago, Hayduke27 said: