NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Can someone tell me what this is...?

Nikki Pain

Hi.  I'm new to all this, so I wasn't sure where to post this photo.  

Wondering what this object is...?  Have debunked the possibility of a lens flare thanks to photos taken before and after this one.  I have seen this strange object move from left to right, seemingly across the sun, on a couple of occasions now and am curious to see if anyone else has seen it or can identify what it is...  Thanks for any help.

image.jpeg

Yes, that looks like a lens flare. These are caused by light reflecting to and fro between the lenses in the objective. When the Sun shines in from a different angle, the lens flares will be in different places.

Did you use a filter to give the Sun those side beams?

If you want to you can also show us the pictures which have the (probable) flare in different positions.

Hi Nikki and welcome to SGL. Our membership has some very experienced photographers, so I am sure the answer they have given will be correct.

As you are just starting out, I am sure you will have a multitude of questions to ask before long, we will, of course, l be happy to help. Just post in the relevant section to which your question relates, in the meantime enjoy the forum :) 

I think It's unanimous Nikki. Lens Flare has it.
Welcome to SGL, and now you know how quickly help arrives when asked for.
There is a veritable Library of knowledge residing here so don't be afraid to tap into it whenever
you need any assistance  :smiley:.

By adjusting the brightness and contrast in the image, the 'object' you highlight is clearly polygonal (approximately octagonal), indicating the bokeh of the lens. Afraid it's not Planet X...

12 hours ago, Ruud said:

Yes, that looks like a lens flare. These are caused by light reflecting to and fro between the lenses in the objective. When the Sun shines in from a different angle, the lens flares will be in different places.