Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Cornwall

djh

Hi, I have been lurking on here for a few months and thought I had best say hello.

My names Dave and I live at the end of the world (well Cornwall UK), where the clouds and rain hold supreme. I am just getting back into astronomy after a break of 30 odd years (marriage, kids and never ending work), so having forgotten everything I knew as a teenager, I am back to being a complete newbie.

I started taking pictures of the night sky last year and bumbled along on my own steam with just a tripod and various lenses seeing what worked. After a bit of research (well Google) I found an article about barn door trackers and decided to have a go at building one. After a bit of modifying and tweaking, it works a treat, managing 4 mins on a 24mm lens and even 30 seconds on a 135mm lens.

With the help of tutorials on Youtube about DSS, Photoshop and such I’m starting to get to grips with imaging.  I now have a small telescope (ST80) and I’m in the process of sorting out a suitable mount for this (it’s a bit too heavy for the Barndoor). Hopefully I will have time over the summer to get everything ready for the longer nights at Autumn.

in the meantime, this place is a goldmine of knowledge and wished I had chanced upon it ages ago.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi David and welcome to SGL - Glad that you found us and hope that you enjoy your time here. There's a few of us imagers knocking about ( :) ) so if you get stuck just shout.

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Dave

Welcome to the great place of knowledge and help that is SGL