NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi from Essex

Dwayne

Hi all just joined last night and awoke with a headache after far too much reading . 

A little about what led me here , I have been a keen photographer for a few years now , mostly nature or landscapes with a newly found  passion for electrical storms .As I got older I'm 49 now you realise that life doesn't go on forever so I made a bucket list of natures great events I wanted to photograph , Aurora , lightning , shooting stars  the list is slowly getting shorter .

A full eclipse is always something that has fascinated me , I tried to get to the Pharoe Islands earlier on in the year , left it way to late , who knew eclipse watching was so popular I could get flights but no accommodation and all hire cars rented out . So I left essex at 4am and drove north till I hit clear skies and got some great shots of the transition . I shot with a Canon 5D3 with a 300mm lens and using a 7D and 400mm with a 1.4x extension I got the extra reach of cropped sensor , it was fascinating to see sunspots with my own eyes and a real wow moment to see valleys and peaks on the moon , " I want more of this "  Now that in my photography terms inevitably leads to the buying of a new lens  ..... I saw in someone's tag " helping  to boost the economy " yeh that's me.

Far from being disappointed with my shots Canons L series lenses really are great optics , I just wanted more reach and being a fan of timelapse I know I needed a tracker scope ,as the most disappointing side of the experience was not fully enjoying the spectacle to constantly adjust both cameras .  The thing that finally made me get the credit card out was the venus jupiter conjunction the 400mm combo really didn't do it justice .