NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Afternoon!

rev_dom

Just thought I'd pop in and say hello! I'm completely new to astronomy, and am getting a telescope for my birthday next month - can't wait to get started with it (and fully expect to be bamboozled and confused, and probably to spend ages trying to work out how to point the thing in the right general direction!)

I'm in the UK, in Essex, and the telescope I'm getting is a Skywatcher 200/1000 eq5. So excited!

Anyway, hello!

Dom

Hi Dom and welcome to the forum. One solution to your possible future observing difficulties is to get hold of a copy of Turn Left at Orion which details some 100 objects that can be easily found with modest equipment. There are written instruction along with maps to help you locate these objects that are dived among the four seasons of the year - so there's always something to see. You can take a look here if you want to check out the layout. Like everything else, if you take your time and practice regularly you will soon make sense of where most of the objects and constellations are.

Clear skies for now and hope you enjoy the forum. Don't forget to ask for help if you get a bit stuck.

Greetings & Welcome to SGL! We L*O*V*E* questions from folks here, so please don't be shy about asking.

That's a great scope to not only learn your way about with but with the 200mm primary-mirror, you have a scope that's quite capable of never running out of new things to see up there. Many folks stay right there at 200mm. And we'll be here once the scope has arrived and you've had "First Light" with it - and you begin to ponder how to..... You'll see! :p

Clear Skies!

Dave

Hi Dom,

Welcome to SGL. Great scope you have chosen there, will serve you well. If you have not used an eq mount before there are plenty of guides online to help  eg. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdkB5NCnFps