NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi from Milnrow, Rochdale!!

rob3910

Good morning all, my name is rob and I'm from Milnrow, Rochdale.. I'm 31 and me and my son are very interested in astronomy. He's only 6 but loved watching the stargazing live and 'wonders of..' Series. This is my first post on here and I've been reading around posts and it seems like a great friendly forum and I am very much looking foreward to be a part of it. I am a total newbie and have just taken the plunge and bought a celestron astromaster 130eq. I had my maiden voyage last night as there were a few breaks in the cloud around midnight. After a while getting used to the scope and the red dot 'finder', and I use the term finder loosely! I managed to focus on a couple of stars but the light pollution in my garden is really bad as the street lights run right around the perimeter. I think I will have to find a darker spot if I am going to see much next time. I am contemplating attending the todmorden observatory this evening with my dad and son to see if I can get some well needed pointers. Looking foreward to reading and posting more on here and thank you for any comments in advance. Rob.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, Rob.

I'm a newcomer, too, and also well pleased with this site.

Hopefully, we'll learn more at the same time.

Wishing you clear skies (none around here for some time to come, I fear!)

Hi Rob and welcome to SGL - Going to see how other people set up and have their equipment sorted is an excellent idea. I have been forced to be a rather solitary person in the astronomy world and the forums and helpful folks on them have been an utter godsend.

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Hi Rob and welcome,
you will certainly get answers to probably all the question you are going to have on this forum,