Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Somerset !

Buffalo Bill

Hi everyone, I am a complete novice to telescopes but have been gazing at the stars for decades and have a basic familiarity with the night sky.

I live in Somerset on the outskirts of town and get some reasonably clear skies ( NOT LATELY !!) without much sodium light pollution.

I have recently fulfilled my childhood dream of owning an astronomical telescope and after many months of research, including using the excellent reviews on SGL, I took the plunge and bought a brand new Celestron C8-SGT XLT GOTO. I have spent many hours ploughing through the manual and playing around with it in my living room to get to know it, but have only gone outside with it briefly on a couple of occassions due the meteorological conditions conspiring against me since my purchase. I seem to have the same effect on the weather if I don sunglasses and shorts, so apologies to all for messing up the skies !!

I am thinking of upgrading with a Baader Steeltrack focuser, a 2" diagonal(any suggestions welcome) and a Baader Hyperion Zoom MK.III eyepiece and was wondering if anyone thinks this would be a good combination with a C8, any thoughts welcome.

Thanks in advance BB.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply