Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Sussex

ben_e71

Hi

well Stargazing Live has bitten me again this year and finally decided I need to bite the bullet and buy myself a 'scope.

After much reading and advice from a friend I have landed on the the SkyWatcher 130P. Now just deciding if I go for the auto or the GOTO SynScan. My thinking is that as I hope to get the kids involved a motorised affair will keep the likes of the moon and jupiter centered. As a enthusiastic novice I don't know where many things are so I am tempted by the GOTO. But then I have apps on iphone or ipad that would help me find things.

SO any guidance in this area would be helpful

Thanks

Ben

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Ben and welcome to SGL, GOTO is a personal choice, but finding your way about the night sky by star hopping, the old fashioned method, can be very rewarding and a very good way to learn about the night sky. Depends what age your children are, as it will take patience and time to locate your objects and frustration may set in and they could quickly loose interest, but on the other hand they may be old enough to enjoy the hunt using star maps your iphone/ipad and perhaps join in with the use of binoculars. With GOTO as it sometime says, "no knowledge of the night sky needed, just press and go", with a data base, most times, of some 40,000 or so objects you will never be lost for things to observe. Enjoy your Astronomy whatever you end up with using :)

John.

Hi Ben, welcome to SGL. I think that with kids to keep entertained, and lets be honest, they sometimes have a short attention spans, the GOTO option is very attractive, as it means that you can find a greater variety of objects in a short space of time. Also, with the weather that we have been getting, GOTO can be a bonus anyway! Clear skies! CW :grin:

Welcome to SGL