Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Becoming frustrated

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The nemesis of astronomy is the Weather:evil:. I feel your pain Manok, its been a pretty dreadfull year for weather, at least here in the uk, as far as I can rememember. I am a relative beginner to astronomy, when I can't get out I have at least the option to learn more by using the plethora of material available on the net, literature or of course here on SGL.

Alan

It seems that ever since I got my scope it's been nothing but clouds for the month of December. How do you keep from being frustrated about never get getting to go out?

I troll around SGL, read about 50x more threads then the ones I post. When I'm done with that, I window shop on astronomy sites, I search ebay trying to get some decent deals on 2nd hand astro gear, get acquainted with the regular 2nd hand prices... After I get bored I find something else to do.

Similar to the guys above. I also spark up Stellarium on the big TV to have a look at what I should be seeing. Sort of virtual astronomy. Fortunately I also have my Astronomy and Astrophysics degree work to do which eases the pain a little.

Dave...

I understand your frustration. The advice about another hobby is not so daft. Astronomy is so weather dependant here in the UK that it's essential.

If I need an astronomy "fix" when the weather's bad, I have a look at this forum, look at various tutorials on image processing, go over my old image data and see if I can improve on my processing techniques, look at what goodies are for sale at the moment, work out my targets for imaging in the future - Jodrell Bank website is always worth a visit.

I look at the nights when I actually manage to get out as bonuses.

Regards

John

It seems that ever since I got my scope it's been nothing but clouds for the month of December. How do you keep from being frustrated about never get getting to go out?