Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I am a complete newbie, how can I get better images than these?

Thenu

I'm doing a uni astrophotography project and we were given a very simple Canon Powershot 490. I attached pictures we took last night (with just the camera).
Camera settings - ISO:1600, f/3.0, Shutter Speed: 15s.

I noticed that there seems to be a lot of grain/noise in these photos and that they are not very sharp. Is there any way to minimize this problem?
From what I researched, I think I need to try reducing the shutter speed and stack multiple photos with something like deep sky stacker. I just want to know whether I'm heading in the right direction.

IMG_0163.thumb.JPG.a368f6ab4d9fac959b2a342c928d9822.JPG

IMG_0164.thumb.JPG.685d75e35e5d5f6389e3a508fd34ca05.JPGIMG_0176.thumb.JPG.9d430ccd155f3d6233412322831a42df.JPGIMG_0177.thumb.JPG.033b94ea8aaa94ab1ff53e7289289c07.JPG

Edited by Thenu
Grammar
  • Like 1

Re the exposure: You take the number 500 and divide by the focal length of your lens. For example, if you have a 20-mm wide angle lens, then 500 / 20 = 25. The 500 rule measures the maximum exposure time you can shoot before the stars become blurry or star trails appear.

Focus is found using liveview normally but I don't think you have that. All I can suggest is altering the focus very slightly until you are happy with it. Might be easier if the Moon is out and you can use that.

Noise can be reduced with after shot processing.