Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with circles in images

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to mono imaging and am having trouble with circular/ring shapes in my subs. The circles are particularly pronounced after stacking my Lum subs but also appear in blue stacks. At the moment, this is making my lum subs unusable and I'm only just managing to put together RGB images.

I'm using an ZWO ASI1600mm with ZWO filter wheel and filters (36mm unmounted).

The attached TIF (LumStack.TIF) is 10x150sec of Lum subs stacked in DSS. The circles aren't very pronounced at this stage but after DBE and STF (see second SunflowerLum.jpg) the circles are very clear to see.

I've also attached a stack of Lum data on Bode's galaxy which shows the same issue.

Does anyone have any ideas what could be causing these?

Thanks in advance

SunflowerLum.JPG.61be380b0881c05e42d9d86c9ed9e4eb.JPG

BodesLum.JPG

LumStack.TIF

Are you using flats to correct for dust particles? These circles look like dust particles in imaging train - flats are used to remove those along with any vignetting and uneven sensor response.

@vlaiv Yes, I took flats with each filter using the white tshirt method at dawn and also dark flats. I can't leave my scope out overnight so I took it off the mount but kept the camera attached. I was hoping this would be good enough but from what I've read it's best to take the flats immediately after the lights for them to have any real effect.

@david_taurus83 Hmm, sounds like i'll need to give the filters a good clean ? What do you recommend for cleaning them? I was always hesitant to wipe them with anything in case I scratched them but at the moment my lum subs are practically unusable so I think I'll have to!

2 minutes ago, f33n3y said: