Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What Advice Do You Have For A Newbie?

Hayduke27

Hi everyone!

I am a new amateur astronomer, but absolutely loving it and am fascinated by everything I am seeing and learning.  I read about sketching the views in my telescope some time ago, but I never really felt that interested.  However, as I learn more and get more time at the scope, I am quickly seeing the benefits and how rewarding sketching can be.  I just got my first sketching kit, I have a notebook, and I also have printed some blank sketch templates.  As the moon is getting so big in the sky, I think I will make some of my first sketches in the near future of the moon (as soon as this rain stops, geez!).

My question to those veteran sketchers out there is this: if you could give one or two pieces of advice to a beginner, what would they be?  I have watched some sketching videos and read some articles, and am not looking for "How to sketch" advice so much as I am looking for advice on some nuances that might just make life easier.  What would you tell somebody who has never put pencils to paper?  Does anything come to mind?  

P.S.-- I really love looking at the new sketch posts, thanks to everyone who puts their time and effort into sharing those!

Sketching is for me the most rewarding part of astronomy, my first piece of advice would be to take your time.

i usually spend a good 20-30 mons observing the object taking in all the glorious detail. Then spend again 20-30 mins sketching the object.

Always try and sketch seated I found being comfortable whilst sketching is key fingerless gloves are a must have.

Finally don’t put yourself under pressure to be great at it straight away it take time and patience to find your way to sketch any given object.

Clear skies ??✨??

Stick at it! Keep all your sketches, good and bad, so you can look back and see how your drawings and your observing skills improve over time. You'll not regret it!