Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Viewing globular clusters

I am a newbie and would appreciate some advice on viewing globular clusters. .  I view from Wisconsin, USA which is at 43 degrees latitude.   I am using an Orion 6in f/5 (FC750) Newtonian reflector telescope mounted on a SkyWatcher AZ4 mount.  I have upgraded the 25mm and 10mm Plossl eyepieces that came with the telescope with TeleVue 18.2 Delite and TeleVue Nagler 5 eyepieces.  I have had good views this summer of Jupiter, Saturn, Mars and the Moon and now want to move on to globular clusters

Since I currently have a good view of Scorpius, I have been trying to visualize globular cluster M4 using Antares as my initial target.  Antares currently sits at 28’ 51’’ so am looking through quite a bit of atmosphere.  Using Stellarium as my guide in walking from Antares, I am able to see, what I think is, the vague, hazy and very dim outline of M4 - not any way near the brightness shown me by Stellarium using the ocular view feature with the parameters of my telescope and eyepiece (normally the 18.2 Delite) plugged in.

So my questions (thanks for your patience in reading thus far):  Do you have any suggestions of how I might enhance the brightness and resolution of the stars in M4.  Is there simply too much atmosphere for me to look through to expect a better view?  Is there a filter that might be helpful?  I am normally viewing within 6o minutes of sunset when I see a sky full of stars.  Do I need to wait an hr or two, for more complete darkness?  Other suggestions?  Are my expectations too great under my viewing conditions?  Is there more a accessable cluster for me to cut my teeth on?   Any help would be greatly appreciated.